Camera and Lens for Filming Videos in Dim Lit Situations

jameszhan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello!

I'm a totally newbie on camera gear so please bear with me!

I'm looking to buy a camera and a lens to film guitar videos for YouTube (here's an example) and film daily footage for my band (gigs, behind the stage, in the studio, rehearsal etc); I want the videos to be 1080p 60 FPS.

Here's the most crucial thing: there won't be professional lighting. The lighting will be dim. But the last thing I want is grainy videos.

Therefore, I need a camera and a lens that is able to film non-grainy videos in dim lit situations. I don't need zoom--all I care about is the ability to film non-grainy 1080p 60FPS videos in dim lit situations. It also helps to have a very big depth of field because I will mostly likely film in small places.

My budget is $1100 USD.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks a lot in advance!

Last edited:
if you have a bigger budget: Sony A7S II with 24-70 f/2.8 GM
given your budget I would recommend the Sony A6300 with 16-50

if you have a bigger budget: Sony A7S II with 24-70 f/2.8 GM
given your budget I would recommend the Sony A6300 with 16-50

Thanks man! What made you recommend mirrorless over DSLR?

You're really lucky it's the digital camera age, because the photos digital cameras make can't have grain.
What do have is image noise.
Unfortunately, the lower the light levels the worse the signal-to-noise ratio and the greater the chance video shot in low light will have image noise.
Digital Camera Image Noise: Concept and Types
Image noise - Wikipedia

You're really lucky it's the digital camera age, because the photos digital cameras make can't have grain.
What do have is image noise.
Unfortunately, the lower the light levels the worse the signal-to-noise ratio and the greater the chance video shot in low light will have image noise.
Digital Camera Image Noise: Concept and Types