Camera Club Portrait - Ruby

Bend The Light

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
At camera club yesterday we set up a load of lights and had a portrait session. Here is the first I processed.
I used one light mostly on the backdrop, and the other camera left as the main. A reflective sheet camera left for fill...How does it look?

Ruby at Camera Club Portrait Session by http://bendthelight.me.uk, on Flickr

bazooka

Reaction score
Website
www.dirtjournal.com
Photos OK to edit
Nice and sharp and good catchlight, but the actual key camera right is a bit hot on her for a key... and way too hot if it wasn't supposed to be the key. :) Is the temp the same? The camera left light looks a little cooler than the "key".

ebzonix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to lighting but I like the detail in the shot. Such a serious face for a little girl, wish she was smiling or looking into the camera. Other than that I like it.

OP
Bend The Light

Bend The Light

Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Photos OK to edit
Nice and sharp and good catchlight, but the actual key camera right is a bit hot on her for a key... and way too hot if it wasn't supposed to be the key. :) Is the temp the same? The camera left light looks a little cooler than the "key".

I'm new to lighting but I like the detail in the shot. Such a serious face for a little girl, wish she was smiling or looking into the camera. Other than that I like it.

This was the idea:

lights by http://bendthelight.me.uk, on Flickr

but in reality the BG light ended up too close to the photographer, and then spilled a little on Ruby.

As for smiling, she's 6, it was 3 hours past bedtime, and she'd been posing for over an hour for other club mermbers, bless her. A wonder she was actually awake! :)

2WheelPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Photos OK to edit