camera for a newbie!

fatalerror

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey guys, as you can tell, im new here, and new to photography

i'm currently a graphic design student, and whenever i wanna take some pictures to use in my design, my ancient sony P7 just ain't cutting it, especially for close up shots where everything just turn into a blur... So i'm looking for a new camera

The one im interested in so far is the canon a640, both the price and quality seems pretty good, and the reviews i have read seems to be quite positive. But the thing is it doesn't come with IS, and i was wondering how much different would it make? I read that with a tripod everything should be fine, but i doubt i would be carrying a tripod with me all the time.... Basically i just want a camera that can take really good quality pictures whenever i see something interesting, so i won't always get the chance to hold the camera very still or use a tripod. So would IS be really important?

and any other suggestions for other cameras are more than welcome!

What is your budget? You might want to look for a used Canon XTI.

Another option with good IS is the Panasonic FZ-30, 50, and or 18.

my budget is about anything under or around 500, BUT i don't want to buy something thats VERY professional, because i am a newbie to photography, and don't ever plan to becoming a pro, just the ability to take high quality photos (no blur, no grain, high resolution, etc) on the go.

i was wondering where can i find good reviews on the cameras you guys suggested, and so far i have only been using this site
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/default.asp?view=rating
is it an actual reliable source?

and what about the image stabilization thing, would it be really important?

i was looking at the new(?) canon a650, its basically same as a640 except more mega pixels and comes with IS. Would that be a good choice?

^^^