Camera/lens for nature photography

ultranewb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a natural resource professional who really likes to illustrate a number of things to clients with photographs. My cheap camera has done okay, but I'm looking to upgrade. My three main goals in upgrading are: 1) manual focus; 2) as seamless GPS geotagging feature as possible; and 3) compact design and durability for long hours outdoors. I'm hoping to keep the budget under $500.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Don't know a whole lot about this myself. But good luck keeping it under $500 bucks... Here's a site describing some of the cameras that the GPS will function with on the Canon Lineup

GPS and Canon Cameras

The cheapest Canon body to use with a GPS seems to be the 40D, and that alone is over 500 bones. That's without the lens, the WFT-E3A, or the GPS.

I that's a pretty big order to fill for the money. I guess you can get a camera/lens and if you have a GPS with coordinate capability somehow manually put it in the photo's description. Nikon also makes a GPS unit for their cameras as well.

My current set up has been using a GPS unit and camera separately and syncing those pictures later. That is far less than optimal and the most important feature is going to be the automatic geo-tagging.

The 40D with the GPS accessory unit looks to be about $500 + $200 on Amazon.

Another I've been looking at is the Samsung NX100 ($600) with the GPS accessory for $200.

Then there is the Casio Ex-H20G which has all functionalities I want for $350 but some obvious limitations.

Are there any good options between the 40D/NX100 and the Ex-H20G? Anybody have experience with the geo-tagging on the 40D or the NX100? I've heard there are some problems even with these setups.

Thanks!