Camera Question

zoso16

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new at photography, and I use a Sony Cybershot 4.1mpx. I want to invest in a new camera, and was wondering what would be a good camera for under $500 CAN. Thanks!:lol:

either or i think. if i get a digital, fine and dandy. if i get a film, ill buy a scanner.

Welcome to the forum.

You can get a really nice film camera for $500...or a decent film camera and a couple of lenses...or a camera and a scanner.

If you want a 'good' digital camera...I would suggest a Digital SLR. A DSLR will be much, much better than just about any digital point & shoot camera like the one you have now. The problem is that DSLRs are expensive. The entry level models start around $1000 CDN (Canon Rebel XT, Nikon D50).

You said that you want to 'invest' in a new camera. One good thing about getting a DSLR is that you are investing into a camera system. The lenses are interchangable...so the lenses will hold their value long after the camera has become old technology. This system is infinitely more versatile than a p&s camera anyway.

If you do decide that a film camera would be the way to go. Have a look at the Canon EOS Rebels...or the more expensive EOS ELAN models. The best part is that they use the same lenses as the Canon EOS digital SLR cameras. So when you do decide to purchase a Digital SLR...the lenses will be compatible.

It's the same for some other camera companies as well. Nikon, Pentax etc.

Maybe what you were looking for was a recommendation for a digital camera around the $500 range. The problem is that most cameras in that range have the same short comings. Even the more expensive one do...until you move up to a DSLR.

The best thing you can do, is to figure out what features and uses you need/want and check the specs. www.dpreview.com then go into a camera shop and hold/use the cameras. Figure out which ones feel best in your hands...and which ones are easy to control.

Good Luck.