Can someone explain exposure compensation for me?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by 9ballprodigy, Mar 18, 2012.

1. 9ballprodigy

9ballprodigy TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I guys, I am so sorry for the total newb question, but how does the ev +/- button work on my d7000? I usually shoot manual and I've encountered situations where if I added +1.0 ev, it just throws my meter gauge into the negatives. I usually get the right exposure with adjusting the ISo, aperture, and shutter speed, but I hear pros and my friends exclaim about the ease of exposure compensation.

I've looked on YouTube for tutorials on exposure compensation and they basically telling me to add ev to make the scene brighter and subtract ev to make the scene darker. I haven't had much results with either. Is it because i am in manual mode or is my d7000 a little wonky?

I've normally been ok with just adjusting the ISo, shutter speed, and aperture, but I got invited to be a second shooter at a wedding and I was concerned about avoiding camera shake images when I am shooting in the evening or indoors. The lens I plan on using is a tokina 50-135mm f2.8 which is nice, but lacks vr so I need to be shooting at least 1/200 sec to avoid blurry images. I would like to avoid taking the iso into extreme levels

2. SCraig

SCraig Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you are shooting in manual then exposure compensation does absolutely nothing except make the meter read wrong. If you are shooting in any of the automatic or semi-automatic modes then it increases or decreases the exposure by the amount that you set.

3. KmH

KmH In memoriam Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Page 107 of your D7000 user's manual has some information you might find helpful. I don't think your D7000 is malfunctioning. It seems you still have some gaps in your technical understanding of how to use the tools you have.