Can someone give me some insight into buying a Nikon D40x in mint condition?

bee_optimistic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a newbie to the world of digital SLR cameras but am eager to learn even with my limited budget to get started. I have an opportunity to purchase a Nikon D40X SLR camera that is in mint condition. Unfortunately I have little knowledge or insight into what is a good deal, what I need to look for before purchasing etc.

This is what the camera includes:
-Nikon D40x 10.2 megapixel camera
-18-135 av/af lens
-sun share
-uv filter
-extra battery
-all books, manuals, and disks
-camera bag and camera strap
-tripod
-memory card

I could have all of this for $350.00. Do you think that this is a good deal? I am unsure what I need to be looking at and what questions I should be asking the seller. Could somebody help me out?

Thanks in advance!

Depending on where you are, that might be a little high; I would aim closer to $300 - 325 if you're in a major centre where there's a greater supply. Here's what I do with used equipment: I ask the seller how long he's had it, what sort of use it's had (something that's been used professionally has greater wear and is thus worth less than something used occasionally by " a little old lady only on Sunday"), if he/she has reciepts, and what the serial # is. I will call the local RCMP and ensure that the it doesn't come up as a stolen item.

Before you go to meet the seller, read through the manual (available on-line) and know enough to turn on the camera, take a photograph, and change the major settings so that you can test it. Before you meet the seller ask him to ensure that the battery is fully charged, and if one isn't supplied, bring an appropriate memory card.