can u shoot under these circumstances?

Dew

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
somehow i got a call from a small hip-hop record label to do a photo shoot of all ten of their artist... i checked their website galleries of the artist and i cant do it :? .. i feel like i wont have much flexibility ... im presuming some "ruff-n-tuff" looking shots, which isnt up my alley ... i'd rather be shooting rockers which imo, they would be more flexibile with what i have to offer.

im no pro yet and can only shoot what i feel passionate about... i think if i go along with it, it will show in the outcome :?

my hubby thinks this will be good for me and possibly a gateway... but my heart isnt in it .... can u shoot under these circumstances? .. if ur heart isnt in it?

Well, it seems presumptious to me to think they will be unflexible b/c they are rappers. But it all boils down to what you want to do with your photography. Are you trying to make a living with it, or are you an artists only?

I'm with your hubby on this one. Besides, overcoming obstacles like this will only make you more creative. Look at Anne Geddes. Whoever thought taking pics of babies could be so intriguing? Maybe you could dress the rappers up in flowers and such. And, oh yeah, pride doesn't pay the rent.

I agree with Shane. I think it's bad, especially at such an early stage in your photography, to box yourself in and say "This is what I do, You're not what I do". Right now should be about learning and experimenting and trying new things. It's possible that whatever happens won't live up to what you want them to be, or that the artists won't like whatever you come up with, but at least then you would have it under your belt and you know that it didn't work out because you tried it and not because you didn't.