Cannon AE-1 Program

zbo2408

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My parents have a Cannon AE-1 Program. They bought it when it was brand new when they first came out we have had it and used it until 2004 when they bought a Powershot A95... Now I am getting into photography & am thinking about the old 35mm in the closet, right after we replaced it, it broke, the film rewind mechanism failed. We never looked into fixing it since we had just bought the P&S. I havent looked into fixing it I am a student & broke, but just wondering how much would I have to invest in this camera, (Lenses, filters, film, ect ect) would I have any problem getting telephoto & Macro lenses for it? What would I need to take macro shots?

I have done all my learning on the P&S and I am thinking about how bad it is going to stink spending tons of time taking shots & having to drive, drop off film, kill time, pick up film & try to remember the techniques I was using on different shots & what I was wanting them to be you know? But at the same time I can't afford a new SLR & accessories...

I am kind of just rambling more than asking questions & just seeking responses... soooo what do ya'll think? I should be able to do anything in the world with that camera that I could do with a modern equivalent... right?

Thanks!!

The Canon AE-1 is pretty much a modern enough camera that you can accomplish the same photos as with a brand new camera. The major features improved from then to now being metering and autofocus.

In regards to investment... only you can determine your budget. Some of us have spent a few hundred and others spent thousands (upon thousands).

A decent DSLR with kit lens can be had for under $500.
A decent SLR with lens(es) can be had for under $500 as well. Unfortunately, it is usually not economically feasible to fix old/broken cameras unless there are other circumstances involved: sentimental, collectors, rarity.