Cannot keep a consistant BG color.. Help?

ErikB97

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, new to this forum, I'm a decent photographer with a few years of practice but I quit for a long while and now I've been tasked (by a friend) to take about 6,000 images of Burl Wood for his company or more technically, his website. So although I have a bit of knowledge retained, I did more 'cinematic' looking images and did actually lean towards motion picture and cinematography and film making.

My issue is:

We're building a website to purchase burl wood so all backgrounds must be consistent with each other or it just looks unsavory on a website but at the same time when I'm shooting it's (more) important to capture the proper colors and lighting of the wood.

Either I focus on the the color/lighting/visibility of grain of the wood and adjust the cameras settings to 'match' realistic color/lighting/visibility of grain.
But then each images background is either gray when settings are lowered or it is very white when settings are increased, I understand the settings on a DSLR and I understand how to adjust in accordance to the need to do so but I feel like I either have to capture the realisticness of the woods features consistently or I must focus on capturing the backgrounds features consistently if that makes sense..?

How can I capture all of these images with good quality of the color/grain and still keep my background looking the same in every picture? I use photoshop and the only option I could think of is to mask the piece of wood in every picture and then invert and adjust the background but it's unrealistically time consuming and it seems to give the image a very dissatisfying "floating object" kind of look so I really need some help here.

BTW: We have a large allocation of funds but we're trying to be as smart as possible with it so any purchases must be completely necessary in order to justify a purchase, if that makes sense...