Canon 350D

woodsac

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.around395.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
OK, I'm really considering getting the 350D. Since I've never used a manual camera before, I know nothing about *manual* features, like zoom and focus. I've always had that auto stuff :mrgreen:

Here's what I'm looking at:
Canon 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Canon 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS

For just general shooting of abstract, landscape, wildlife, just everyday photos...will this be a good package? Any other suggestions? I notice that the 1st lense only goes to f/3.5, any problems there not being able to go f/2.8?

The things I really feel limited on with my FZ5 are shallow depth of field and shutter speed. It's hard to get shallow depth without using the macro!! And macro doesn't make for nice pics sometimes. And I would really like those faster ISO's :wink:

The 350D is by all accounts, a great camera. Quite a few people here have it..and seem to love it. As always, try to get your hands on one before you buy...just to get a feel for it and compare it to other similar cameras.

The 350D can be just as automatic as the camera you are used to. Auto everything (not auto zoom though)...but if you want to manual focus, just click off the autofocus on the lens. There are plenty of shooting modes but the most important are the main 4 modes. Auto exposure, shutter speed priority, aperture priority and full manual exposure.

As for the lenses...those don't give you a wide field of view. You will want something wider for landscape. If you don't plan on getting a full frame SLR anytime soon...you might consider one of the EF-S lenses. The cheap kit lens 18-55 EF-S or maybe the better 18-70 EF-S IS. The EF-S lenses only fit onto a few cameras (300D, 350D & 20D) but they offer a less expensive way to get a wide view on these cameras.