Canon 40D now or 50D later?

JSI

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'd like to get some advice. I'm interested in getting the Canon 40D now because the prices have gone down considerable.
That being said would it be worth waiting for the 50D to go down or should a jump on the low price on for the 40D?

I'm just an amateur with a Rebel Xt I've had for a while and want to move up to something with a bit more features.

Thanks

Jeremy

We can't really answer this for you. For some people, it might be worth it, for others it might not.

What are you looking for, specifically, in an upgrade from the XT?

The 40D would be a pretty good upgrade, but the 50D is the latest technology and some people say that it's always best to get the newest technology.

But is the cost for the "new technology" worth the price over the old model?

Take the 40D which can be had for around $1000. The 50D for $1500. Then say throw in the 17-85mm kit lens and the 40D only goes up to $1200. That seems to me like a pretty good deal.

Jeremy

You can almost always get a good deal by buying the older technology...and the 40D is a great deal at the moment because it's really not very old at all. You need to ask yourself if you will feel the need to upgrade in a year's time...or will you be satisfied with the 40D for several years?

If you consider a camera's life span, $500 may not be that much for the additional technology in the 50D...but maybe the 40D is already as good as you will need. It's really up to you.

Perhaps you would be better off to stick with the XT and spend the money on a good lens or two. There really isn't a right or wrong here.

I'd rather get a 40D + a good lens (not the kit ;) than just the 50D.

But then i got a pre-order on a 5D mk2 now so i might be slightly biased ;)

ya ive shot on a 40d and for the 1k spend the rest on lens
it will most likely do what u want and more