Canon 50D vs. Canon 500D

Alex_M

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys,

I'm considerung buying a new DSLR. I'm new to digital photography and want pretty much a good camera in advance in order to use it a long time. My choice is either the Canon 50D or the 500D with an extra lens (no basic-kit lens).
I thought of a Canon EF-S 17-55mm 2.8 IS USM lens. What do you guys think?

I want to take pictures of sports, landscapes, and portraits, so pretty much everything :blushing: ...

Thank you so much for your help!

in honesty... both are too powerful for a newbie (well the 500D is focused for Ameture Photographers.)

I like your post compared to other newbies who sign up to a forum and go "tell me a camera where i can get super High quality images for less than £500."

The 50D is for Semi Professionals.
IF you have the cash.. then I guess why not.
But I recommend buying a cheaper body and spending the money on Lens'
The most important thing for DSLR's are the Lenses tbh.

Ofcourse the body matters but its the glass that gives the true quality and captures the image (besides you pushing the buttons)

You should get a 350D to a 450D (includes 1000D which is essentially the 450D but cheaper and a lower resolution / MP)

As said above.. If you have the cash, why not go for the best of the lot (the 50D in this case)
*removed statement due to the correction below*

Whereas the 450D (thats what I use therefore all I can give a true opinion of performance on, the rest is just from what I have heard / researched.)
can take either EF or EF-s glass (meaning it can use L glass too) But as it is a 1.6x crop sensor all lens' you buy for the 450D will be focal length x 1.6

This means if you buy a 50mm f1.8 ii it is then essentially a 80mm (and also looses a little quality) but the quality loss is minimal

Remember: It isn't the camera that takes the picture, it's you!