Canon 70d or 6d

ndancona

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
It's time to upgrade. I've had a t3i 600d for three years now and I've learnt a lot on it and has given me a lot of good use. I am now at a level where I feel this cameras limitations and I want to upgrade to something better.

I am not a pro but a very active enthusiast. I sometimes accept paid work only to try and support my photography habit. I need a good camera but I can't justify spending thousands just as a hobbyist.

My question is, will the 70d be a noticeable upgrade? I am not interested in video just still photography. Should I save a bit more and go for a full frame 6d.

My current problems with my equipment are poor low light performance and weak auto focus. Noise appears on images above 200 iso range. I know the 6d is far superior in this respect being a full frame sensor, but how does the 70d compare? Personally I almost prefer to stick with a crop sensor camera as it's what I've become familiar with but will this come at a price for less performance?

70D isnt a big improvement over the t3i when it comes to low light performance.
Get the 6D!
I just moved from crop sensor to full frame myself and the change is amazing, I am pretty sure you will love it, I did.

Good luck

What lenses do you have? The EF-S lenses will not work with the 6D full frame, you will have to get EF lenses.
I have a 50/1.8, 85/1.8, sigma 70-200 2.8, 18-55 kit lens

What kind(s) of photography will you do?

Migrating the 50mm, 85mm,and 70-200 lenses to a full-frame body will turn that three-lens set into a POWERFUL basic set of lenses useful for many, many assignments. On family portrait sessions, the 70-200 will become amazingly useful and versatile, once the shackles of that 1.6x field of view narrowing is eliminated. The 85mm f/1.8 will immediately become a valuable, fast, short telephoto lens that can actually be used indoors, in normal-sized rooms!