Canon AE-1 + FD lenses. F-stop doesn't affect light meter?

ghosteater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey - apologies if this is an obvious question - I am new to this....

I am using old manual FD lenses on a Canon AE-1. My issue is > The light meter only changes when I change the shutter speed... it doesn't move when I change the aperture (the aperture it seems to always read as wide open). To me that seems silly.... why would an F2.8 @ 60 shot have the same metering as an f16@ 60 shot (there would be a totally different amount of light coming in)?

I was using the DOF preview button, and that made it so changing the f-stop actually affected the TTL metering like the shutter speed does - which seemed right.... but I then read online that you should never use the DOF button for metering, or leave it pushed in, as it will give an incorrect metering since the metering was 'made to be used with the lens right open to allow for the most light' etc.

I can't imagine this is right. Unless it's like everybody knows you 'only use the TTL metering for the shutter and then do some mental calculation to figure out how various stops down affect the light coming in' or something weird (which seems really weird)?

This behavior happens with all 3 of my FD lenses... so is something wrong with my camera? Or is this some behavior that is typical of the FD lenses or AE-1 w/FD lenses? I know I use them (adapted) on my video camera sometimes and they can be a pain in the ass to get manual aperture on. Is there some pin on them that needs to be pushed in or something? I think I saw some post alluding to having to 'reset' them (going from biggest to smallest f-stop twice or something) - does that have something to do with it? Thanks so much!