Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens, is this a good choice for low light pics

debmar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Going to DC in April and want to be able to take pics in museums (if allowed) and in the evening of the lit up monuments.
[h=1][/h]I believed I've learned that with the f/1.8 I will be able to take lower light photos without the flash. Also with 55mm will it be too narrow for indoor wide angle shots? I own the Canon T4i kit lens EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens, should I just stick with this one or buy the 50mm f/1.8 ?

Thank you

Get the 50/1.4.

I know it's quality reflects the pricetag. That's why I am suggesting you get the 50/1.4.

Do you know if it's a decent lens for low light indoor pics
Yes. Not eveyone needs to spend the money for the 1.4. The 1.8 is a capable little lens. If you end up not being that happy with it you can sell it. This popular inexpensive guy holds its value quite well.

Okay...I'm a newbie..so let me ask you this then...with either of these two lens, one being twice as much as the other...am I on the right track with choosing this type of lens for low light indoor photos without the use of a flash? The lower the aperture f stop, the more light that is let into the lens?? Thanks

Yeah, it's terrific for its price. My other two lenses are L series ones and the quality is not too far off. I've had it for a year or so and always turn to it for ultra-low light situations. The contrast and colors are excellent for what it costs. Unfortunately, the focusing is really slow however.

Do you know if it's a decent lens for low light indoor pics
Yes. Not eveyone needs to spend the money for the 1.4. The 1.8 is a capable little lens. If you end up not being that happy with it you can sell it. This popular inexpensive guy holds its value quite well.

Thanks texkam..Okay I will get the lens I was asking about then. :)