Canon EF-S vs Nikon DX

meheranandk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I wish to purchase a DSLR in the near future. I am confused as to whether I should purchase a Canon or a Nikon. I am looking at a range of around $1000 for my camera and I am aware that, as a consequence, I can only look at cropped frame bodies. I've been reading photography literature for a few weeks now and I do know that even though I will not become a professional photographer with a studio (I am an engineer pursuing photography as a hobby), I am highly interested in shooting landscapes and HDR shots of them in particular. And I wish to excel at that. I know for a fact that Canon EF-S lenses will not work with a full frame body while on the other hand, Nikon DX lenses will work with an FX body. If I were ever to get a Canon full frame body, I'd have to throw away my old lenses. The trade-off seems to be that the Canon lenses are a lot more affordable. I am just getting into photography now and I do not even know if I will ever need a full-frame body. I'd be really grateful if someone could give a recommendation in this regard or give me a link to an older post on this forum which might cover this issue. Thanks.

Last edited:
DX Lenses will technically work, but you won't get the full resolution so they're not really useful on a FX body, which means you'd have to trade them up anyway if you ever do upgrade to FX.

Okay, there's a huge misconception in this post. You will not have to "throw away" your EF-S lenses if you go to a full frame body. You'll SELL them, and they'll retain their value as well as you take care of them.