Canon EOS Rebel XS on Craigslist, please help!

kmacarthur

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello All,
Can you guys help me to figure out whether this is a good deal or not, and what i should be looking out for on the transaction... the seller is going to give it to me for $300. I'm brand new to photography, so dumbed downed explanations are appreciated. Is there any way to tell if this camera is new? ie, current model? Thanks so much!! Here is the description from craigslist.

Just in time for the holidays! Selling this brand new Canon Rebel XS........still in the original packaging and was NEVER used! Paid $500 for it!

Canon EOS Digital Rebel Xs:

10.1 megapixel resolution
The Canon EOS Digital Rebel Xs delivers detailed pictures that can be enlarged up to 20" x 30"

18 to 55 mm zoom lens
Offers f/3.5 to f/5.6 performance that is equivalent to a 28 to 90 mm focal length on a film camera

Optical viewfinder and 2.5-inch color LCD screen
The Canon EOS Digital Rebel Xs gives you a choice of how to compose your shots and a convenient way to review them

Automatic focus
High-speed, wide-area 7-point AF with center cross-type sensors

DIGIC III Image Processor
The Canon EOS Digital Rebel Xs provides Auto Lighting Optimizer for highlight/shadow control, and Picture Style settings for in-camera color, contrast, and sharpness control

3 frames-per-second shooting
Shoots continuously up to 514 large JPEGs (until memory card is full)

SD/SDHC memory card slot
The Canon EOS Digital Rebel Xs stores images on optional SD or SDHC memory cards (not included)

I believe that model came out in 2008 but I might be wrong. I googled it and that's what I found. You can buy it new from amazon for 479.00 and new from bhphoto for around 350.00. If its brand new and unopened then it's probably a good deal.

Hey Megan,