Canon T2i... Right purchase!? Basic questions...

phillychad

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone!

Glad I found this forum... Been poking around and there seems to be some really helpful info on here.... I look forward to getting to know ya's!

So here are my "issues"....
Just purchased a Canon T2i (550D) with the 18-55 kit lens...
I am new to dslr's but always loved photography...
I wanted to purchase a system that I could grow with as my skills and understanding improve...
Was always a NIKON fan but decided to try CANON. The other camera I was considering (at the time) was the Nikon 3100. Cheaper but seemed to be on par with the T2i as far as features go. I loved the articulating LCD on the Nikon and would have gone with it but it just felt too small in my hands. One of the things I liked about the Canon was the ability to add a battery grip. Allthough the Canon feels pretty good without it anyway, its nice to have that option. So here are my questions... I hope some of you may be able to help!?

1. This may have more to do with the lens I'm using...
I noticed when shooting at 18mm, my landscape shots seem to be "tilted"... The horizon seems to tilt. Is this due to the wide angle? Am I holding the camera wrong? Is it just a perspective issue? Sounds silly but I spent the morning shooting a sunrise, came home and noticed all my pics were... "tilted". I was shooting upriver so maybe that has something to do with it?