canon upgrade/advice needed!q

echo213

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hi!

i currently have a canon xti body, 17-40mm 4.0L and 70-300mm lenses.

i'm a beginner but but i have a pretty solid technical knowledge. i like to shoot music and concert photography mostly indoors in dark rooms, with lighting that isn't so great. i'm quickly realizing that my current set up just isn't going to cut it...

most of the time i find i cant get enough light, the images aren't clear, or the noise and grain are just out of control. it seems everyone else can effortlessly get great shots, and i'm struggling just to have options.

which brings me to.... considering an upgrade to a better camera body, or maybe buying another lens? (thinking about 1.4 50mm)

i'm looking for advice from anyone willing!

i've talked to the guys at b&h and calumet in nyc but it always seems like they are trying to push things on me. (which is how i ended up with the two lenses i have). of course price is a consideration, but i'd like to make smarter choices in purchasing/trading in equipment so i can really start to get creative when shooting shows.

if anyone has recommendations i'd love to hear them.

thanks so much!

I'm also looking for advise, I am new and just bought the T1i, it will be in today :lol: however I am worried about the Tamron lens I chose, price was better but then I read they feel cheap and so on. I just love photography and have so much to learn but I am thinking a need a canon lens but I can't spend $$$ after just spending so much for the camera.

So I need your advise too please. Will a lower cost Canon lens be fine for a beginer? Are the Tamrons that bad? I guess when I get it in today I will be able to play with it.