can't prevent rolling shutter when recording lasers!

cipher0

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I'm not a professional photographer.

I'm trying to record my laser beam shows with a Canon 600D camera. I can't get rid of the rolling shutter effect caused by rapidly moving laser beams!
Here's what a laser beam show looks like:
http://img.diytrade.com/cdimg/12177..._laser_beam_show_for_Special_effect_light.jpg

I've tried setting the shutter speed as low as possible, tried changing the fps, nothing helps...

MKHvG65.jpg

zQjzAsn.png

I don't think there's even an affordable CCD camera these days I can purchase from what I've been told.
I've got this old big video camera which I think has a CCD sensor but it's a VHS camera!

What can I do? This has become extremely frustrating.

if you think knowing how these laser devices work will help you find the answer, then here's a simple summary:

There's a single RGB laser beam
The beam is hitting two tiny mirrors which can move very fast
The mirrors can move as fast as 24000 - 60000 times per second
So the multiple beams or moving beams is caused by the fact that those mirrors are moving that single beam so fast our eyes can't catch up.
The beam is very bright, if not moving it can light up a candle in a second, so it is set up to never reach the eyes and camera lens.

Last edited by a moderator:
This is sadly the primary weakness of DSLRs with regard to video work and a reason they are not as popular as regular video cameras for certain situations. You can see the same thing if you used a DSLR to record helicopter rotor blades, the blades start to appear to be bending in the air because of the rolling shutter.

Far as I know the only solution is to either accept it or shift to a dedicated video camera. You can always digitize the film recording from a camera; sadly this means more cost either in hardware or in sending the video off to be digitized.