CF Cards, 4-8gb

logan9967

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I just started shooting RAW and noticed how few (About 130) pictures I can hold. I need to get a new CF card at minimum 4gb so in the 4-8gb range, since there isn't much of a price jump.

Anyway, anyone have any problems with higher gb cf cards? or does anyone want to suggest any? I'm thinking either San Disk or Promaster.

Thanks everyone

I prefer the Higher end SanDisk or Lexars.

For an 8mp camera, I still prefer a handful of 1gb cards simply because you limit your loss if/when a card gets damaged or corrupted.

that's what i mean, have any cards ever failed on you?? if they have a tendency to then i would rather have more 1gb's then a 4-8gb thats going to break

All cards will fail. It's a limitation of flash memory. I think you get 100000 re-writes out of them. I've taken 50000 photos on the one card and I just replaced it.

You could also try taking more care when photographing rather than taking so many photos only to delete half of them on the computer. Afterall what would you do in the film days? (Disregard this comment if you're shooting sports or weddings)

thanks for the tips! i didn't know that they actually had a fail estimate to them. and yeah it does make sense to limit pictures, especially since my laptop only has about 30gb hard disc left

thanks for the tips! i didn't know that they actually had a fail estimate to them. and yeah it does make sense to limit pictures, especially since my laptop only has about 30gb hard disc left
You should be saving on an external harddrive anyway ;)

I use a handful these in 1gb sizes:

SanDisk_UltraII_SDPlus_4GB_130.jpg

with an Epson image tank.

If i were you, i would just get a couple of 1 gb or 1GB & 2 GB cards, and also, the larger card u get the slower the writing is going to become, so its better to have a couple of fast cards than have one large, expensive & sluggish card.