Cheap, old lens for reverse mount.

calforhelp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, hello everyone. I've been looking for a good Photography forum for a while now. I'm just getting into photography and I'm getting my second DSLR.

I really like the concept of reverse mounting your lens for macro work, however, I don't really want to be exposing the rear end of my $1500 lens to do it.

So I'm looking for just an old lens that has a 58mm or 52mm filter ring that I can use for this purpose. Obviously autofocus doesn't matter and a manual aperture ring would be ideal.

I'm using this on a 7D but I'm thinking that an old, prime, wide angle, manual lens would be my best shot.

I won't be using the lens a ton so if I could find one on eBay for around $10-$20 that'd be fantastic.

I don't care about brand. All of my stuff is Canon but I'll definitely make an exception for this.

So to sum that up, I'm looking for a lens that is:
-Wide angle (below 30mm)
-Preferably prime
-Full manual (focus, aperture)
-58mm or 52mm filter ring
-above all, Cheap.

Thanks for any help!

Pentax, Nikon, Canon FD, Minolta MD, and Olympus OM mount manual focus lenses would probably be good candidates. Nikon made a huge number of lenses with 52mm front filter threads, in many focal lengths. Olympus and Pentax had many 49mm thread lenses. Minolta and Canon were all over the place on filter thread sizes in the MF era.

Pentax M42 thread mount lenses, most of them with auto-diaphragms, had a handy Auto-Manual diaphragm stop-down switch, which makes it easy to stop the lens down to shooting aperture,and then open it back up with the flick of a switch, which is kind of handy sometimes.