Choosing an 18-300 mm lens

Readeramm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a hobbyist photographer for 35 years - more interested in shooting than editing. I travel regularly around the globe and like to shoot landscapes, wildlife, cities, etc. For a long time i have gone with an 18-200mm Nikon f3.5-5.6 lens which has been a great choice for many years. I am planning a trip to South Africa this fall and I'd like to replace this aging lens with an 18-300mm to bring the wildlife in closer while still allowing me to travel light with a single lens.

I'm considering the Nikon f3.5-5.6 18-300, the Nikon f3.5-6.3 18-300 and the Tamron f3.5-6.3 16-300. I'm not sure that I'll be able to tell the difference between the 2 Nikons with the exception of the significant additional price and weight of the 5.6.

I've always used Nikon lenses and always thought that Tamron was an off-brand. As I've looked around I've learned that this is also a quality product. At $499 this appears to be a bargain but I'm hesitant to take the leap.

I've also read lots of reviews about the poor quality of photos shot with 18-300 lenses in general which makes me even more confused as to which direction I should go.

Help!
Anne

Zoom lenses are a compromise in image quality. The best image quality in a zoom comes from two things. Quality of the materials/build and shorter focal range differences. If image quality is your main concern and want zooms then you pay for it. Even in middle of the road consumer glass shorter focal range differences will usually produce superior image quality.

The attractiveness of the mega zoom lens is the thought of only carrying around one lens. That if great for convenience, but poor for image quality. You have to decide what is more important to you, Image Quality or convenience.

Of course you could consider renting a lens for the trip: LensRentals.com - Rent a Nikon 200-400mm f/4G AF-S VR II