Color management when saving photos to discs for clients

BeckyK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm fairly new to processing photos for print and am having troubles with color management. I don't have my own photo printer (yet!), so I use a lab and have the ICC profiles for this lab. I have mostly figured it out for what to do when I am printing the images myself (they still turn out more red, but I don't have a monitor calibrator yet, so I blame that). What I am wondering about right now is burning photos to CD for clients for them to print- I obviously can't embed the color profile for the printer they will use, since I have no idea where they will print, and they may print at different locations, so what do I do so that the photos I save to disc will print properly at any kiosk? ANY suggestions on this and color management in general would be really appreciated!

Ok two golden rules for colourmanagement:

1. Whenever giving photos to some other than a print lab with trained staff who know what they are doing, convert to sRGB. No iffs or buts. The benefit your photos get when using a wider colour space (if any) will be horrendously outweighed by negative publicity of an unhappy customer. Never ever give the customer yet another way to possibly screw something up because even if you fix it you won't get their recommendation or repeat business. Also never assume a kiosk or any lab will be able to handle any colour space other than sRGB. ALWAYS ASK FIRST.