Color Space Question

Plato

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
web.mac.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
To put this in perspective, I'm an amateur and nearly all of my shots are for personal enjoyment or for family and friends. Be that as it may, my goal is to always do the best that I'm able.

There seems to be no doubt that 16-bit RGB color space far exceeds the quality of 8-bit. Also, Adobe recommends ProPhoto RGB over sRGB and Adobe RGB. I'm just learning RAW and I bring the RAW files into either Lightroom-2 or Nikon's Capture NX2 (on a Mac). I'm still uncertain which RAW processor that I prefer but I'm leaning toward LR because of Topaz compatibility. When I finish in LR (or NX2), I export either a TIFF for further work in PSE-8 and eventually create a JPG or, if I'm finished with the image, I export a JPG directly from LR. In either case, I use iPhoto to catalog all finished products (JPGs) as it allows me to interface with dot-Mac blindfolded.

The Topaz plug-ins work from inside LR, PSE and iPhoto (but not NX2). That gives me another advantage in that I can bring my wife's Casio shots directly into iPhoto and still make them look as good as is possible.

Now to the question after the long-winded background description...
For those photos that I intend to give to friends and family, will the 16-bit color space and/or the ProPhoto RGB color space screw them up? What should I do (and how do I do it) to change the JPG files before distributing them while retaining as much quality as is possible?

Well you can't save a 16-bit file as a JPEG, you have to convert it to 8-bit first. Do all your editing, and as the last step, flatten the image and convert it to 8-bit. Then save as a JPEG. I would also keep it in sRGB if you're going to give them to others. Most monitors are calibrated to sRGB, plus that's what the Web runs on. And it keeps things simple. ;)