Complete noob... looking for advice of the pro's.

Randi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, at the risk of being hated for being yet another newbie to show up and have a "which camera is better" type of question, I really would like to have the advice of people who actually know what they're talking about, since the people I ask have no background to be able to give an educated opinion.

So, I am a complete newbie at photography, and I like to take pictures of my animals. I'm looking for a camera where I can take pictures of all my little fast moving kiddos where they will not be completely blurred, or washed out if I use flash. I have only used point and shoot cameras and I'm finding that either the pictures are blurred if I don't use flash, and if I do use flash, they are washed out. So, I want to try a DSLR camera.

I have harrowed it down to three that I found on the Best Buy website:

Nikon - 10.2MP Digital SLR Camera - Black - D60
Canon - EOS Digital Rebel XS 10.1-Megapixel Digital SLR Camera - Black - Rebel XS Black
Canon - EOS Digital Rebel XSi 12.2-Megapixel Digital SLR Camera - Silver - Rebel XSi Silver Body Only

Again, I literally know *nothing* so I am sorry if I am a nuisance. I, in turn, become annoyed when people come on my animal forums and ask stupid questions, so I can understand your frustration. I appreciate your help and patience in advance.

It's not that easy. First you have to understand why the pictures are blurry and washed out. Getting a dSLR might solve that problem and might not if you dont know how to solve it.

First off, I am not a pro, but am a hobbiest that enjoys photography.