Complete Noob!

purplesun525

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ok, so im new to this site. I own a Canon XT Dslr and love it. However, There are so many settings i get overwhelmed. I have always loved photography and wanted to do it forever. I actually wanted to go to school for it but my parents refused to pay for the schooling because they didnt think it was a "real" career, it was a hobby. So here i am at 29 trying to learn my camera and feeling completely overwhelmed. I just purchased the new corel paint shop pro x4 (cant afford photoshop) and love it, however im still trying to teach myself how to use that as well. My two main focus's of photography are landscape and portrait. I would eventually love to get into storm photography. If there is anyone local (kansas city) that would be willing to teach me a few things that would be great. Im a hands on and visual learner, reading a book doesnt get me far unfortunately lol. Any help would be greatly appreciated, right now im shooting on the setting with the green box lol. I know i know, i should know what setting im on and i dont, thats how lost i am at the moment.

Some friendly advice, get over your fear of reading. Start off by reading what is probably the most boring reading you'll do, the camera manual. Once you feel comfortable with it, then you can move onto books that actually talk about photography and are more interesting. There are also plenty of online articles that are shorter and therefore more digestible than books.

You need to first learn about exposure. Shutter speed, aperture, ISO. What other aspects of the image do they affect beside exposure? Your camera manual will probably cover these to some extent. Also, Google is your friend.