Copyright

grahamhunter2001

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, I've been lurking about this great forum for a few months now learning more about photography and picking up hints and tips.

Anyway, I was wanting to know how you would deal with a copyright issue I've just found out about.

I was at an event a couple of months ago taking some pictures for myself. It was a kayaking event organised by the national body. I was asked to send them any half decent pictures so they could use them in their magazine. Now, I'm no pro photographer so I was quite happy to send a few pictures along and see if they got published. I sent them some low res (1024x768) photos I thought were really good with the only condition being that they credited me with taking the picture. My girlfriend got the magazine this month and found one of the pictures I sent in the article about the event. I feel really happy that the picture got published but they haven't credited me with the picture which I'm feeling really annoyed with, its not as though I was charging for the picture - all I wanted was recognition that I took it and there was nothing.

The only thing I could see in the whole magazine was a disclaimer at the start saying that "The SCA fully acknowledge the copyright of all photographic contributers, known and unknown". To my mind when someone asks to be credited with a photo it means to have their name published beside the photo so that people know who the photographer was. It seems standard practice in other magazines to do this.

I was looking for some advise on how to approach this.
Should I send off an email to the magazine saying I'm not happy that the terms I set out for the use of the photo have not been met? send them an invoice? leave it and get over it and just be happy that it got published?

Graham

mmmmm tricky one.

i think you should be happy it got published and put it down to experience.