Corel Paintshop pro x8 Ultimate

goooner

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Anyone using this program? I've become a little disillusioned with Adobe's push for a monthly payment. I have LR 5 with the newest update, and PSE 13. I got PSE13 for very cheap, and for LR I paid around 90€. The Adobe subscription is 12€ here in Europe, and I really do not want to do this.

I really enjoy using LR, and the organizing of my photos using keywords etc. is great. But it seems like Corel has a similar system with Aftershot 2. I plan on getting a D7200 early next year, which means that my LR will not be able to import the NEF files. If I switch to Corel it will probably be for the next 8-10 years, or until they don't support my raw files any more. This deal seems almost too good to be true...

Photo Editor - Corel PaintShop Pro X8 Ultimate

I'm not a pro, but being able to use layers for focus stacking etc. could come in useful in the future. Which means that this program should be able to cover all my needs.

So the question is, does anyone use this program, and/or have a direct comparison to LR/Photoshop?

Last edited:
I've had a copy of Corel PaintShop Pro for awhile now but it never grew on me. Now I'm using Corel AfterShot Pro 2 and really like it. I downloaded the manual which is quite good and it won't break the bank.

Dave

I have no experience with Corel but paying a monthly fee (or annual fee) for LR and PS gives you access to the latest versions of it and you never have to worry about your software not being able to read a file. (well unless you get the newest of the new cameras before Adobe can get the update out.)

I've had a copy of Corel PaintShop Pro for awhile now but it never grew on me. Now I'm using Corel AfterShot Pro 2 and really like it. I downloaded the manual which is quite good and it won't break the bank.

Dave
Great, Aftershot 2 is included in that package.