Critique and Suggestions Please

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a DLSR and I've tried shooting butterflies and didn't get nearly as good result as you did. Great job!

Well, if I ask a question, I expect to be fed answers.
Be assured some of the answers you will be fed will be dead wrong.

At some point you have to evaluate the validity of the answers. You can waste a ton of time going down blind alleys other wise.

Last edited:
5704219372_8b4250c7bf_b.jpg

Thanks for the reply. I cropped this in a little bit. I liked what you said about all the horizontal lines and the lighthous; I never even noticed that. I also did some dodging and burning to the picture and sharpened up the lighthouse a little. I think this looks much better but there are still some dark spots around the lighthouse...I'm very new to photoshop...I don't know how to mask out the background. I have limited internet connection at this point so I can't look into it right now, but I will as soon as I have a better connection!

Good start.

Any time you want an opinion or a little support in PS just PM me.

Lew

I'll keep working on that one!

Here's my brief run through of #1.

5693558838_9bbf5fcd35_b.jpg

ISO 64 f/4.8 1/100

This photo, I'll admit, doesn't really invoke any emotion or feelings for the average person. I took this while my girlfriend and I were at the zoo for our 2 year anniversary, so that's really the only attatchment. I'm not sure what kind of emotions a picture like this could convey even...

My favorite part of this photo is sharpness of the butterfly and the flower. The sharpness really make the POI stand out from the background. I do wish the entire wing was in focus, however...