Critique for fur hat shoot

beatniktwist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new here, so what. I'm not looking for praise, applause or validation, I like my work. I'm here to LEARN about photography. I am asking for critiques on my photos not on my responses, grammar or speech. Just because I'm new here doesn't mean I'm new at life, the internet, or anything else. Show respect and get respect.
Anyhow

I found this awesome Fur hat at the thrift shop and of course I had to take some pictures. #1 is a self portrait and #2 is my lil man. It's time for an outside view other then family and friends who'll say it's amazing no matter what craptastic photo you pull out of your A** and it's hard for me to catch the problems with the photos because they're mine and I love them. They can always be better this I know. I need to step my game up and take myself to the next level. Go ahead rip me to shreds. I kinda like it.

#1 $108.jpg#2$ccsmaller.jpg

In the first, the face seemingly is unimportant, because there are no details, except that the nostrils are really, really obvious - and that's not so enjoyable.
The second (and the first) is over-pumped, that may work once or twice but as a technique it gets old, because the technique is what is hitting the viewer in the face.

I'm not sure what over pumped means but I would like to so that I can not do that.

The dramatic over-saturation of colors that has the little boy's face rimmed with magenta.

Don't get me wrong, as an occasional device it works but here it seems out of place on a child and draws attention away from the hat, which seems to be the center of interest.

On the other hand, it is really great to see someone striking out and doing stuff that is so non-boring.
Count me as a fan.

Lew

The perspective distortion in #1 is terrible (look at the poor girls nostrils... Makes me think, Here Piggy Piggy).... the color in #2 is really off. Nothing more to say... (actually lots more... but I wont!)

Exif on #1

[PhotoME]