D700 or D3?

tevo

Recovering TPF Junkie
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking to buy a second camera body, for a few reasons. I have a bad case of the full frame itch, so the acquisition of a full frame digital body was/is inevitable. I work as a sports photographer full time (as full time as a high school / college sports photographer can be, at any rate) so a new camera would be a workhorse for me. A second body would also be very advantageous for indoor sports, as it would allow me to carry both a zoom and a wide angle without having to stop and switch lenses. I am considering spending the extra money on a used D3 (~$2100) because the low light performance is excellent, and the quality of the body is very nice. However, I realize the advantage of shooting sports with my D7000, that being with the crop sensor I hit the sweet spot of my lenses and get in a bit tighter at any given focal length. For this reason, I have also considered the D700 (~$1500) as my camera body for everything besides sports, leaving the D7000 as my work body. The advantage of having the D3 would be that for scenarios where I need better low light performance than that extra tightness with the crop sensor, I would have it; for scenarios where a crop body would be advantageous, I have the D7000. Then again, this would also be true of the D700, although I'm not sure how the low light performance would compare to the D3 / my D7000. Is the D3 worth the extra money, or would the D700 cut it?

The D3 and D700 supposedly have the same sensor. Either would meet your needs. I've been thinking about both of them myself. I'm leaning towards the D700 because of the price and the built-in sensor cleaner, which the d3 doesn't have. Plus I already have the battery grip that fits it (same as my d300), which would increase the FPS rate if that matters to you..