levinest
TPF Noob!
- Joined
- Jun 29, 2011
- Messages
- 75
- Reaction score
- 5
- Location
- Long Island, NY
- Can others edit my Photos
- Photos OK to edit
Been playing around with my brand-spankin'-new D7000 and have run into some questions I cannot find answers for regarding one of the features I was most looking forward to taking advantage of - the second memory card slot.
I've got it currently set up in backup mode, where it places the new images on card #1 and backs them up automatically to card #2. First, I've found it to be quite slow getting the image onto the second card. I can see the green access light lit long after I've taken a series of pictures. I know I've got it set to RAW+JPEG Normal but this seems rather excessive. I'm using Class 6 cards at the moment. Waiting for my Class 10 Sandisk Extremes to come in the mail, which should help a bit, but should it really be this slow?
Next question - when I'm previewing the photos I've taken, as I scroll through them I invariably end up on the second card looking at all of the photos all over again. Can I "hide" the second card from the preview screen? This becomes that much more of a problem as I start deleting photos I don't want. I often will end up on the second card without realizing it and now I'm deleting photos from the "wrong" card so now I don't have a complete set on either card. That becomes a major issue for me as I now need to sync down both cards or I may end up with more photos than I really wanted or may miss in-camera edits I made on one card or the other. It would *really* be helpful to just never show me any of the photos on card 2 but I have not found a setting for that as of yet. Anyone?
Lastly, regarding this same subject, does anyone know if there is a way to get it to do the backups as a low-priority? I've found, especially when I set it up in multi-shot mode and I take 5-10 photos at once, that I cannot preview the photos I've taken because it's so busy doing all of that writing to the cards. The preview just basically freezes up while it's flushing the buffer and copying to the second card. If the backup job could take "last precedence" somehow, the camera would be a heck of a lot snappier in its responsiveness.
I've got it currently set up in backup mode, where it places the new images on card #1 and backs them up automatically to card #2. First, I've found it to be quite slow getting the image onto the second card. I can see the green access light lit long after I've taken a series of pictures. I know I've got it set to RAW+JPEG Normal but this seems rather excessive. I'm using Class 6 cards at the moment. Waiting for my Class 10 Sandisk Extremes to come in the mail, which should help a bit, but should it really be this slow?
Next question - when I'm previewing the photos I've taken, as I scroll through them I invariably end up on the second card looking at all of the photos all over again. Can I "hide" the second card from the preview screen? This becomes that much more of a problem as I start deleting photos I don't want. I often will end up on the second card without realizing it and now I'm deleting photos from the "wrong" card so now I don't have a complete set on either card. That becomes a major issue for me as I now need to sync down both cards or I may end up with more photos than I really wanted or may miss in-camera edits I made on one card or the other. It would *really* be helpful to just never show me any of the photos on card 2 but I have not found a setting for that as of yet. Anyone?
Lastly, regarding this same subject, does anyone know if there is a way to get it to do the backups as a low-priority? I've found, especially when I set it up in multi-shot mode and I take 5-10 photos at once, that I cannot preview the photos I've taken because it's so busy doing all of that writing to the cards. The preview just basically freezes up while it's flushing the buffer and copying to the second card. If the backup job could take "last precedence" somehow, the camera would be a heck of a lot snappier in its responsiveness.