D7000 - photos are all too dark

pipylnic888

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I'm new to photography so please bear with me. I just got a Nikon D7000 and have shot with it twice now. The first time, my photos came out normal, but today they all came out very dark, almost black. When I uploaded them to my computer I was able to adjust the brightness and could make out the photos, but they were still very dark. Both times I shot outside in daylight on a sunny day in auto mode with no flash.

An older post on this forum said that I could have inadvertently changed the exposure compensation, but I checked and it is at 0 and the photos are still coming out dark. Does anyone have any ideas as to why this keeps happening?

Here's a picture to show what's going on - I took this in the afternoon when it was bright and sunny.
WCvY6lH.jpg

I don't have an EXIF reader, so would you please post the EXIF? Just make a screen shot and post that.

There are several resets in the menus, one for the shooting menu and one in camera settings. I'd reset both and put the camera back to factory defaults.

Sent from my N9518 using Tapatalk

I just tried resetting the shooting and camera settings and the photos are still dark.

Is this the exif?

File Size
1053 kB
File Type
JPEG
MIME Type
image/jpeg
Image Width
Image Height
Encoding Process
Baseline DCT, Huffman coding
Bits Per Sample
Color Components
X Resolution
Y Resolution
YCbCr Sub Sampling
YCbCr4:2:2 (2 1)

Last edited:
Is this the exif?
That's a small portion of the usual EXIF. Unfortunately, I have not equipped this computer with an EXIF reader, so I needed to ask you for the particulars.

What some of the more experienced photographers will be interested in seeing are things like lens, aperture, shutter, ISO, exposure mode, flash mode, etc. etc. If you upload your photo directly from your computer, someone with an EXIF reader can just read it from your photo.