D90 What to process RAW with

Ant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been using a D70 for seven years and processing RAW in Nikon Capture editor. However, I've recently got myself a D90 only to find that capture editor won't handle the RAW files. So I've apparently got to spend another £160 getting Nikon capture NX2

I'm not so bothered about the price as such, but what concerns me is that if I get it and then upgrade my camera in another few years will Nikon suddenly decide that NX2 is incompatible and force me to buy something else? With that said I'm looking at other options.

Are there any other recommended programs, such as photoshop, that will handle the D90 RAW files and, most likely, keep up to date with converters in the future?
T
hanks

Most software companies stop updating their old software when they release a new version of their software. 1, they want people to buy their new stuff. 2, it would take a lot of work to keep a dozen previous software releases up to date. 3, as computer processing improves, the RAW editors keeep getting better and better and there is a benefit to updating to newer software.

So, no, it's not likely to change.

As far as options for you now, Raw Therapee is free. Adobe offers 30 day trials for all of their software and all of their software comes with a RAW editor. CS5's Adobe Camera RAW is the most powerful, and as powerful as it is, I find myself spending less time in the actual Photoshop software and doing most edits from Camera RAW. Nikon also offers View NX for free and it will handle your D90's files.

Why not try asking whomever you bought the camera from to give you the disk with the software that came with it?

Or borrow a copy from someone else who has a D90?

FastStoneImageViewer