Design the printing company you always wanted to do business with.

RobinGraham

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone! Thanks in advance for your feedback.

My name is Robin, I recently purchased a large format photo printer. It will print up to 44" wide on photo paper. It is really an amazing printer. I am currently a special effects professional, but I was a photographer for years. I wanted to start a small side business selling large format photo prints. I figured with my low overheads and computer graphics expertise I could really offer a excellent product for a really affordable price.

Anyway. Sales talk aside I would love to hear what is important to you, the small business photographer. You really have the opportunity to create the business you always wanted to work with.

* What image formats do you normally work in?
* What sizes do you typically print in?
* What kind of paper?
* What is the most important aspect in a printing company that you work with? Speed? Price? Professional website? Return policy?

Please help me out with any feedback you can. This could be a amazing business for my family. I am not looking for any kind of huge operation, just a niche busniess that provides the best quality.

Last edited:
Not to kill your dreams or anything but why would you want to poor thousands of dollars into this when there is plenty of labs that this already?

My wife is a fashion designer. The printer was for her (printing out huge patterns). But she really wont be using the printer as much as it should be used. And like you said, it does cost thousands of dollars we should be getting something more out of it! :)