Developing B&W film

bdpaco

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am mainly a digital photographer, but I picked up a 35mm film camera and want to start developing my own b&w film and do my own prints. I have been reading up on a lot of different sites and a couple books, but I am confused as to what chemicals I need since they all suggest something different. I plan on using Ilford Delta 100 and 400 b&w film.
Can any of you suggest a simple list of chemicals I can start with while I learn how to develop and print. Thanks for your help.

kodak d-76is a good film developer that works with most types of B+W film, water can be used as a stop bath and a final rinse for the film. Anything you buy will have directions on how long to put the film and paper in each solution. The basic sequence is developer, stop bath (can just be a water rinse) fixer a rinse, hypoclearing agent (can be replaced with 30 min of continuous rinsing, another quick rinse and photo flow, which is optional. The paper uses dektol as your developer a stop bath (again can be water) and then the same fix you use for your film, then a rinse. Rinse times depend on the type of paper you buy and will be listed with the paper. Hope this helps. the fixer is just Kodak Fixer for B+W

check out Ilford"s website for some great pdf files on step by step developing along with a specific list of items necessary for developing your film. It really is easy .

Modern films donot need hypoclearning agent, or 30 minutes of washing, check Ilford's washing method, saves water , and doesn't take much time.

Not using stopbath with paper is going to reduce the number of prints the fixer can properly work on. Besides stopbath is very cheap,

Thanks everyone, seems there is a little more to it than I expected. But I am excited to see what I can do in a dark room.