developing slide film

skatephoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey, if anyone knows a place that developes slide film in the north jersey area i would really appreciate it. Also i am new to using slide film so if someone could give me some pointers that would be great. thanks

Most "Pro Labs" will do it for you. Check around your area in the phone book for any labs that do E6 proccessing. Any lab that does E6 will develop your slide rolls.

Fuji makes a great slide film, the best advice is just to be sure all your settings are right on your camera, i.e. your light meter readings and f/stop. Slide film is less fogiving them negative film. And make sure to bracket if your at all unsure about your shot.

Also slide film does not capture as much contrast as print film. Usually about 3-4 stops while print film can capture 5... black and white even more.

this is just to expand on what's been posted by voodoocat and havoc...

shooting slide film is very different from shooting print film. print film has a much wider exposure latitude than slide film. you can actually overexpose your negatives by 2, sometimes 3 stops, and still come away with an okay photograph by adjusting the exposure in the printing stage. you can also go the other way and underexpose print film by a couple of stops and still make a print from the negatives.

slide film, however, has a very narrow exposure latitude, and will not tolerate over or under exposure by more than 1/2-1 stop. this means your exposures have to be precise and on the money. you WILL see a difference between a slide that is exposed properly, and one that is under or over-exposed by 1/2 or even 1/3 stop. shooting with slides is a very good measure of your skills in metering and proper exposure techniques. i shoot on slides regularly because it makes good practice and will definitely hone your skills as a photographer.