Diffuser for speedlite 430ex

hudsonp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm fairly new to the idea of a flash and diffuser, can someone please tell me if this one on ebay is the way to go, or should i be looking at something else?

LINK TO EBAY

thanks!

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
This won't do anything other than cut down the output of your flash unit slightly. I'm amazed they still get people to buy these things.

Softer lighting is created by having a light source that is larger relative to the size of the subject. So a diffuser (a soft box is an example) needs to make the light source significantly larger to be effective. That is what soft boxes do. As an alternative you can place the light source closer to the subject and that also makes it larger relative to the size of the subject.

Think of daylight. On a sunny day the light is hard and shadows have high contrast. The sun (large light source) is small relative to the size of the subject. It is a point source. On an overcast day, the overcast acts like a softbox by taking the sunlight, enlarging it and, in turn, lighting the subject. Shadows can disappear completely in the right conditions.

Beginners often think that light can be softened by putting something between the source and subject. That only works when the something enlarges the light source significantly - very significantly - many times. Take a look at the large soft boxes pros use in the studio. That is effective diffusion.

For portable flash, the best way to soften light is to bounce the light from another surface such as a wall or ceiling if that is possible.

This should be an image of a child made with a flash unit bounced from the ceiling and held at arms length. The effect is pretty good. It isn't what you could create in a studio with better equipment but it is about as good as you will do with a single portable flash.

rocco.jpg