Digital camera for large prints

Fionn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am fairly new to photography. I have a Canon g1 and I am considering upgrading to an SLR. I want to use the camera for larger prints at times.

I would like to be able to make prints in the 36X48 to 48X48 range. I have read a number of articles about techniques to make these sixe prints. My question is, can I use an 8.0 or 10.0 megapixel for these types of prints?
Will it make a big difference between 8 and 10 megapixels?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Fionn said:
36X48 to 48X48 range.

is that inches? cm? miles? give us some reference frame here ;)

I have read a number of articles about techniques to make these sixe prints. My question is, can I use an 8.0 or 10.0 megapixel for these types of prints?

the difference betwenn 8 and 10 MP is smaller than many people think... as in MP we talk about the square of pixelnumbers, whereas interesting are the pixels in one dimension (resolution). Hence the resolution gain not that impressive.

the optical resolution (as in resolution of the lens) plays often a more important role. often you see 10MP images where the lens or the plain focus was actually the limiting factor.

Fionn said:
I am fairly new to photography. I have a Canon g1 and I am considering upgrading to an SLR. I want to use the camera for larger prints at times.

I would like to be able to make prints in the 36X48 to 48X48 range. I have read a number of articles about techniques to make these sixe prints. My question is, can I use an 8.0 or 10.0 megapixel for these types of prints?

Thanks for any suggestions.