Digital SLR help.

Woosey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey

Bit of a background first -

Ive currently got a Casio P-600 digital camera and a Nikon FE2 35mm camera. After using the Casio for a while, Ive decided i preferred using my FE2, so Ive started to look at buying a digital SLR.

I take all sorts of different pictures, and i would class myself very much as a casual photographer, i do however enjoy taking my pictures!

I only have about £450 to spend, however i am planning on buying more lenses when i can, so don't worry about that. Ive been looking at the Nikon D50, which does seem fairly good value for money, ok it has a plastic body (not great) however for the amount you pay i guess its a bit much to be expecting full on metal!

Anyone got ideas what i could get for around that kind of money? Or comments on the D50?

Thanks

Chris

The D50 is a great camera and you can't go far wrong with Nikon. I'd say it's worth looking at the Canon 350D as well as it's similarly placed in the market. Having been a Nikon and Contax guy for years, I've actually decided to go with the 350D as it feels better to me and I think Canon are probably winning the digital race at the moment by a hair's breadth.

Rob

hey!

Well i went to check out the 350D Canon today and found that i dont like the lens that comes with it at all (the focusing ring is tiny and it feels to plasticy and cheap):grumpy: (lens 18-55mmcanon lens)

have others had that same experience?

wonder whether its worth it to buy the body abd then invest in another lens...:meh: The one that comes with the 20D is heaps better. 17-85mm canon lens

so Rob youre a prime lens guy then, but unfortunatly i cant afford that way, is it wise to buy the 350D body and then get the lens that comes with the 20D?