Digitalis

RxForB3

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I believe this plant is of the genus Digitalis (commonly called Foxglove). I'm not entirely sure, though. If it is, it's particularly interesting to me as a pharmacist considering that this is apparently the origin of the drug Digoxin...

As always, I would love thoughts/suggestions and hope this isn't too many photos in one post.

Bells are Ringing by RxForB3, on Flickr

IMG_9477 by RxForB3, on Flickr

3. An abstract from the plant.

Untitled by RxForB3, on Flickr

RxForB3, you are right, this is the species known as the Common Foxglove - Digitalis purpurea. I like the first one and the abstract, well, it is interesting. So know we have some idea of the origin of your screen name "as a pharmacist" - Rx...;)

Heh, you got it. Before I became a pharmacist, I got a degree in music. Organ specifically. My hobby/addiction before photos was collecting/playing old Hammond organs in hopes of one day owning a Hammond B3 organ. Hence...prescription for B3. It's also a play on vitamin B3, otherwise known as niacin.

I see what you’re trying to do with number 3. But i think you should of tried to zoom into the flower, to get more colour

Your lens is capturing this flower very nicely. But the composition includes too many competing elements in my eyes. Here's what I would do:

$7491179578_ab435d69e8_o.jpg

I like the abstract, go with that idea and see what you can create.

If you don't mind my asking... I checked out the EXIF on flickr and am assuming you did a diagonal pan to get the effect?

Thanks for all the comments. Yes, it was a quick diagonal pan. Looking at the photo more, I think I may have been mistaken to include it on this thread. I believe it was actually an abstract from the other flower I posted yesterday.