DLSR vs Point and Shoot Digital cameras

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by bobbyfrancisjoseph, Jan 25, 2012.

1. bobbyfrancisjoseph

bobbyfrancisjoseph TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am a rookie in photography but unfortunately a techie too. So I would like to get one thing clear in my head. Based on my reading I easily understand why the optical viewfinder of a dSLR gives a more accurate view of the scene than in the case of point and shoot digital cameras. But why is it that the LCD screen is able to give a better view in case of dSLR. Is it because expensive and bigger sensors are used. Would I correct if I say that I am not taking advantage of the SLR principle if I am looking into LCD screen instead of viewfinder of a dSLR when taking photos.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  2. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Larger and better sensors, yes, and to a degree, higher-quality LCD displays, but probably the most important factor is larger, faster, higher quality lenses funneling the light onto that sensor. You would be correct; the 'reflecx' aspect on an SLR (film or digital) is based around the moving mirror. When you're using live view, the mirror (on most) DSLRs is raised out of the light path, and not part of the equation.

3. Jeremy Z

Jeremy Z No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    False. The optical view finder is always less accurate than what is shown on the LCD, whether it is a point & shoot or an SLR. The advantage of the optical viewfinder is that it is not impacted by bright sunlight and that having the camera against your face gives it another point against which it is stabilized.