Do all camera sensors perform equally, per unit of sensor area?

Rockworthy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm just talking about the sensor, not any other part of the camera.

I'll admit it, I'm new to DLSRs in general and am doing some research to see what I really need to get and what I don't. I have a nerdy, technical question for those camera nerds out there :) A big discussion I see floating around is, "Do I really need a full frame DLSR or not?" Well I already know that I do not. My question is this though: certainly all sensors are not created equally, right? I mean, a top-quality smaller sensor (crop frame) might be made with superior technology and actually out-perform a full-frame sensor right?

For instance you could accidentally buy a cheap(er) full-frame camera that was made with a cheap full-frame sensor that could actually drink in less light and color than a really good crop-frame camera's sensor right?

Thanks guys! I love this forum.

Do all camera sensors perform equally, per unit of sensor area?

No. But, some image sensors are used in more than 1 make and model of camera.

The image sensor in the Nikon D5100, and D7000 are the same image sensor. The sensor in those Nikons is made by Sony, and is also used in a Sony camera too.

Image sensor size has a direct correlation to image quality. The smaller the sensor, the lower the IQ.

Investigate 'pixel pitch' and how pixel size relates to image sensor performance. http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/technology/technology/theme/cmos_01.html

Last edited:
Given the same generation (time frame), full frame cameras will, in general, have better sensors than crop. And they will also be more expensive. However, a newer generation crop sensor camera may have a better sensor than an older generation full frame camera.

This recent article is the successor to an early 2011 article published on The Luminous Landscape web site.

DxOMark Camera Sensor

It's well worth skimming, then reading.