DSLR Body advice Canon EOS 7d / 40d / 1100d

Sailing Smudge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi All,

Being new to this, just a quick question...

I've been looking to get a DSLR, but I'm new to the world of digital photography, I just wanted some advice as to the option of buying an entry level DSLR as a beginner, or to go for a better quality model aimed at those that are already used to/ familiar with DSLR's

Are the higher end cameras too confusing for newbies?

I'm looking to buy used and have narrowed down the choice to those but happy to see what people suggest.

Once brought, I'm also going to join my local Camera Club which will hopefully have some members willing to help me on my learning journey :)

Thanks in advance,

Entry, mid-level, and high-level cameras are more alike than different. If anything, I think the high-level, professional bodies are EASIER to make adjustments on, because they have extrenal control buttons for the most commonly changed settings, like white balance, ISO, and format/quality. Cameras designed to appeal to newbies are, in fact, often MORE confusing, since menu-diving is almost always required. I recall a certain Sony mirrorless camera: making an ISO change on it required SIXTEEN button presses....and there were no shortcuts....ISO was layered into the menu system. That was the NEX 3 or 5, as I recall. Not kidding either.

The older Canon 1D and 1Ds bodies are low cost today...$700-$950 for a nice older pro capable Canon 1-series body, a little more, but not too much for the 1Ds Mark III, which is now "old", yet still like an old racecar....still very responsive. The older 5D classic is a decent camera, $550 or so. 40D...ehhhh....it's still okay. I guess it depends. I don't think much of the 7D, I really don't.