(E-Mount To EF) Sony A7S ii with Cannon EF 24-105mm f/4

David Clement

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I'm a Film Student.

And I'm going to buy a Sony A7S ii with a Cannon EF24-105mm f/4 as it was recommend for shooting film especially with low light.

But I was also told I would need an E-Mount Sony To Cannon, yet due to my reduced knowledge I have little idea of which one is the cheapest/right one.

If anyone knows I would greatly appreciate any answer.

Btw this are the websites I’m planning to buy from if anyone knows a better one please let me know.

Sony Alpha ILCE7SM2/B / a7S II Mirrorless Digital Camera (Body Only): DronesForLess
https://www.mpb.com/en-uk/used-equi...es/canon-ef-24-105mm-f-4-l-is-usm/sku-646512/

Thank you so much.!

I have a couple of the Metabones adapters, which adapt a Canon EF mount lens to a Sony E-mount body. I've used these adapters on an a6000 (which I own) and an a7RII, which I have access to through a friend.

One that I have is the (more common) Mark IV adapter. It works with EF (full-frame) or EF-S (crop-sensor) lenses. There are no optics in the adapter, but definitely some embedded electronics to engage the focus mechanism of the attached lens.

I have about 15 or 20 different auto-focus lenses and at some point, I've attached nearly all of them to the Sony just to try it out. Many of my Canon lenses do "okay" with this adapter. A few lenses do "well". Some do not work at all. There are only a few that I think perform well enough to consider using in a practical situation.

The (Canon) 70-200/2.8 is one that performs fairly well. The 24-105/4 is ... well, not that great. It works, but there's a lot of hunting involved. I have the Mark I version of that 24-105 lens. It's possible that the Mark II is different/better, but I can't speak to that one.

And just to make sure, I mounted that lens/adapter/body combination even as I write this response to check things.