Editing software question

Winona

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I know there are many threads on this topic and a variety of opinions. After reading for hours over many weeks I am still undecided, probably because my lack of computer knowledge. I have a Canon T2i and a MacBook Pro which is new. I am a very amateur photographer but feel I am picky about how photos look. I want to do more than the basics, but realistically it will be awhile. My knowledge and time are very limited. Right now I would be happy to get my photos somewhere besides my camera. Should I go with the Canon Software, the apple photos program on the computer or Photoshop Elements? I mainly do nature, wildlife, and trip photography for my own pleasure. Someday want to do layers and HDR but need to learn the basics. Please someone choose for me so I can move on. Lol. Do either of these let you save the original while you play with editing?

What's wrong with the one that came with your camera?

I always despised Elements, and felt that it lacked the necessary tools, compared against Photoshop. Adobe's Lightroom on the other hand, is nice, fast, has a good tool set.

I dunno....Apple's new editing stuff is decent and easy for the beginner. Canon's DPP software was "okay" the last time I used it, but that was like 2008!

Adobe Lightroom is probably the most popular but there are people who use other programs. You'll find the most support, knowledge, tutorials, etc. for Lightroom (and Photoshop) due to their popularity.