Editing Software

cmaag

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I'm new to photography. Just started learning how to use my first DSLR in the past month.

What is your recommendation for editing software for RAW images on a mac?

First I was thinking I should get Photoshop CS5 and learn how to use that but then I saw some reviews on Amazon saying Photoshop Elements is sufficient. I am primarily doing this as a hobby to take pictures of my pets and first baby due in February. But I do love to learn things (especially on the computer) so I don't want to invest $100 on software I'll be over in a few months, if that makes sense.

I would truly appreciate any thoughts/insights/recommendations on editing software that you can share! Thanks!

Elements will take longer than a month to figure out. There is so much you can do with it. Most people will never need/use the full capabilities of photoshop.

I personally use Photoshop CS5 and I love it. However I have been using photoshop for years now on other things other than editing Raw image files. Elements is a great choice for someone just starting to get into it and will allow you to tweak and edit what you need without issues. You can also look into GIMP which is free and Open Source. I supports a lot of different formats and can have many plug-ins installed to increase its functionality. It is a close competitor to photoshop in many aspects and sometimes surpasses it. You can load custom brushes even in photoshop format to be used and all kinds of stuff. Personally I haven't tried editing Raw files in GIMP but I have heard of others doing it. Its also lightweight and small so it won't take up a lot of computer space and can even be put on a USB drive and used as a portable application on the go for editing your photo's. I use Portableapps to do this as they have GIMP and other graphics programs already there and optimized for portability. Hope this helped some.

Hi,