equestrian photoshoots

astroNikon

'ya all Bananas I tell 'ya
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Next weekend I'll be shooting some friends horses .. as a hobby, free, et all
So .. as I peruse the internet for ideas (like here) I'm curious what type of equestrian photography other people have had.

The shots will be in the later afternoon to hopefully minimize bright daylight.

Color of the horses are brown ... though I'm going to double check that.
I'll be doing still poses in addition to more action shots. Of course what type I'm going to request after I figure out what is good.

I'm no expert but have picked up a few tips (if I get these wrong a proper photog with equestrian experience will correct me ). Take a plastig bag (keep hidden) for an assistant to rustle when you want the ears to prick up - no horse owner likes a flat-ear shot as in horse language, that's aggression/fear. Also shooting from the height of the wither or just below will keep their proportions natural for the conformation shots (side on). In trot and walk, try to catch a light stride with the far leg leading - avoid the point where the weight is on the front leg as it looks heavy.

Oh and if they're jumping, owners seem to like shots from 45 degrees or side on to the jump. Catch the point where the front hooves are tucked and the hind legs are full stretch. Remember to get eyes in.

$D7K_4040.jpg$D7K_4161.jpg

Few things I've picked up

1) Avoid short focal length lenses and close up shots - you want to be back using a telephoto otherwise perspective distortion kicks in a lot with a horse and that closer to you belly suddenly gets a whole lot larger (horse ends up looking over weight - to say nothing of the depth of field issues). So shoot further back with more distance and a nice telephoto. 50mm+